Sri Dwadasha Jyotirlinga Temple

The Sri Dwadasha (12) Jyotirlinga Devasthana is a unique, and one of the most magnificent and gigantic temples in Karnataka.

In this temple the Twelve Representative Jyotirlingas of the original Pauranik Twelve Jyotirlingas, which are in different parts of our country are under one roof, each with an individual Garbhagriha and Vimanagopuram.

Inside the main temple, these 12 Jyotirlingas are seen along with Sri Vidyaganapathi, Sri Subrahmanya, Sri Kalabhairava, Sri Chandikeshwara, Ekadasha (11) Rudradevatas, Panchaloha Nataraja weighing around 1000 Kgs and the Divine Mother Shakti in the form of Sri Yantra.

Of these Twelve Jyotirlingas, the Omkareshwara Jyotirlinga measuring around 6 Feet in height, occupies the place of pride with Spatika Shree Yantra, at the centre of the temple, encircled by the other Eleven Jyotirlingas. This is the Main Jyotirlinga of this temple.

The Vimana Gopurams of Sri Shaila Mallikarjuna and Sri Rameshwara Jyotirlingas which are in South India are in the Southern style, and the Vimana Gopurams of the remaining Ten Jyotirlingas which are in North India are in the Northern Style. Hence, this temple is a harmony of South Indian and North Indian Sculptures. The height of the Vimana Gopuram of the main Jyotirlinga, Sri Omkareshwara is around 100 Feet from the ground level and is the highest among all the Vimana Gopurams.

This temple was founded by Brahmaleena Sadguru Sri Shivapuri Mahaswamiji with the intention of providing an opportunity to each and every devotee for Jyotirlinga darshana, which otherwise requires health, wealth and time, since the original Jyotirlingas are in different parts of our vast country. It also serves the purpose of propagating awareness and the significance and uniqueness of these twelve Jyotirlingas to the younger generation.

The construction of this temple was started in 2002 by Sri Shivapuri Mahaswamiji, and it continued for many years. However before he could complete this divine task, he attained Samadhi, (left his Mortal coil) in 2007. Later his Sannyasin disciple, Sri Madhusudhanananda Puri Swamiji became his successor, (The Peetadhipathi of Omkara Ashrama Mahasamsthana), and continued the temple work.
The Pranaprathishta of the 12 Jyotirlingas and Mahakumbhabhishekam of the Temple was done by Sri Swami Madhusudhanananda Puri on the Auspicious day of Wednesday, 16th February 2011, in the divine presence of many Saints, Holy men, Purohits etc., With elaborate rituals, Japas, Homas and Poojas, the temple was dedicated.

1. All the 12 Jyotirlingas are Narmadeshwara Lingas (also known as Baana Lingas), and are made from the Stones of the River Narmada, which is very auspicious for Shivalinga.

2. Below each and every Jyotirlinga, 1000 Small Narmadeshwara Lingas measuring around 1 inch in length are placed. But beneath the Sri Omkareshwara linga, 2000 Small Narmada Lingas are placed.
So in total the temple consists of visible 12 main Jyotirlingas and 13000(thirteen thousand) invisible Narmadeshwara Lingas.

3. Beneath each and every Jyotirlinga, Saligramas, many Rare Herbs, precious Stones (Navarathna), Metals, Grains, good quantity of Mercury and Specially worshipped Yantras are also placed along with Small Narmadeshwara Lingas.

1. A huge Nandi (Basava) measuring 16 feet height and 20 feet long, will be placed in front of the Temple.
2. A 19feet long stone Trishula to the right, and 19 feet long stone Damaru to the left of the Main entrance of the temple are under construction.
3. A big Massive Bronze Bell, weighing around 1200 kgs, which is one of the biggest and heaviest bells in the country, will be placed in the Temple Complex for the Temple use.

1. Daily Rudrabhisheka and Pooja will be performed to all the Jyotirlingas and varieties of sevas are also performed to the lord. And on all the festivals, special poojas, homas etc,will also be performed. for details see the list.
2. Pradosha Pooja, Sankashtahara Ganapathi Pooja are done regularly.
3. Navagraha Japa, Homa and for all types of Japas and homas facility is there.


Dwadasha Jyotirlingas
Sri Vaidyanatha Sri Omkareshwara Sri Vishwanatha
Sri Bhimashankara Sri Triyambakeshwara Sri Ghushmeshwara
Sri Rameshwara Sri Somanatha Sri Kedarnatha
Sri Nageshwara Sri Mallikarjuna Sri Mahakaleshwara